#15: Don’t –

GET BACK ON THE HORSE.

My daddy was a cowboy. He came up with this crazy saying about having to get back on a horse if it threw you off.

Well, I thought he was a cowboy. Years later I discovered he actually went around inseminating cows. But that’s another story.

This story is about the time I was little and the horse bucked me off.

“You have to get back on the horse that threw you off,” he’d say.

So, despite the tears, he put me back on the horse. It immediately galloped off, bucking wildly. Jumped a couple of ditches. I hung in there, screaming. But I hung in there.

My dad was proud. But to this day, I still can’t be around Shetland ponies.

Anyway, the point of the lesson here is: if a horse bucks you off, just shoot the fucking thing.

That’s what the beach trek guy that we sold Follyfoot to ended up having to do when she bucked him off. It was the final straw that nearly broke his back.

You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it think twice.

Also, dads can be pricks sometimes.

Leave a Reply

